Hello all! I hope you are having a beautiful day! 🙂

As I mentioned in Post College Blues post,  I have recently moved back home to Los Angeles after having completed my undergraduate career. I have now been unemployed for about a month and a half. I am not going to sit here and tell you that it has been terrible because lets face it, who doesn’t enjoy time off after being a full time student since the age of 5 right? So yes, I have definitely enjoyed being back home with my family and not running right into a full time job.

But of course there is only so much downtime one can handle before beginning to feel like a couch potato or a waste of space in this universe haha. And I reached that point like 3 weeks ago. Which surprises me because that means I only really enjoyed freedom for like 3 weeks before I started to feel gross about myself not having  a job yet.

It is hard as a recent graduate to find a career when you don’t know exactly what you want to do and even worse, when you finally find a job listing that sounds perfect but you don’t have the required 2-5 years of experience in the field. This haunts me because I feel like I’m lost for not knowing exactly what I want to do yet, because really I want to do many things! How are we supposed to find the middle ground between being a recent college graduate with limited experience and pursuing a dream career that requires you to have already had 2-5 years of experience?

This is exactly what has been giving me so much anxiety these past 3 weeks. Some days are extra difficult to the point where I spend hours in bed reading and watching programs that just for a moment take me away from the reality that is my life right now and make me feel happiness. But that only lasts so long before the book is over or the program on Netflix ends and I am back where I was before.

It’s is not like I don’t know of activities that will keep me busy, or as many of you are probably thinking, “Just go out and get any job.” I do realize that there are many things I can do to keep myself busy and happy but I lack the motivation and I am having trouble seeing the point in doing anything. And about getting a job, it is discouraging that I know I can get any job that only requires a high school diploma but I don’t because I don’t want to sell myself short or settle for just any job that will pay my bills. I feel like I have the privilege to ask for more in a job given that I have two degrees but fall short when companies require that I have 5 years of experience in order to be considered.

So like this title says, here are some things that have “healthily” helped me get through the tougher days. I say healthily because they have gotten me out of my bed and even better sometimes out of my house 🙂

I have taken up on giving more care for my baby Oliver (mixed poodle). I started playing with him more, I’ve been taking him out for more walks and sometimes even jogs! he gets so tired haha poor baby.

I went back to a dance team that I have been a part of during my vacations from school. This couldn’t have happened at a better time because I have been needing more human interaction opposed to being locked at home all day. I love these people and we dance and laugh so much together. It is definitely the positive energy that I have been needing in my life ❤

And just as great I have also started blogging again!! I am finding this to be very therapeutic, I am no longer tormenting myself in my head all day. I feel like this is sort of an outlet for me. The designing and editing of my page is also fun I am getting back in touch with my creative side 🙂

Lastly, what I have been  having the most trouble with is getting back into working out. I know working out is one of the most effective therapies for me and ironically it is the one I am having the most trouble getting back into. Walking Oliver has helped me with this a bit but I know it is not nearly enough exercise for my body. I used to workout nearly EVERYDAY before I came back home. Sigh…. but I’ll get back, I know I will. like they say, patience is a virtue and boy have I been working on my patience lately. Now more than ever.

So if you are still reading this, thank you ❤ for listening to me and if you have any suggestions for me or anyone else that comes across this same issue, please feel free to share them 🙂 I am looking into starting an organizational series here because I have been thinking about beginning to organize my parents home one section at a time to keep myself busy and share it as I go.

Thank you again and I hope you have a beautiful day!!

<3, Jesusita 🙂 x

2 thoughts on “How I get through the ‘Ruffer’ days

Leave a Reply

