C'est la vie

Would you give up a week of PTO to hang out with a particular someone for an entire day?

Someone asked me this the other day and here is my answer. Enjoy!

I would not. There isn’t any one person that I admire/idolize enough to give up an entire week of PTO for, especially if that person is someone I do not know on a personal level or is famous.

There are so many people we come across in a life time that we learn from. These people are many times nobody famous or well known. It can be a friend, a family member or even a stranger you met in line at a coffee shop on your way to work or class. We even learn from strangers without realizing by just witnessing their interactions with others.

During a week of PTO I can take a trip on my own to an unknown destination and learn a lot about myself, from those I meet along the way and from the experience meanwhile getting paid to do it ;). Something that an entire day with the president of the united states cannot teach me.

This doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t love to ask Meryl Streep what it takes to be such a poised and well respected successful woman in her career or Yanis Marshall WTF do I have to do to be able to look as half as amazing as he does dancing in 5 inch stilletos.

The reason why I wouldn’t give up a week of PTO for anyone I look up to is because I know that we all share something in common and that is that we are human. Just like us, they too have their weak moments and times of despair like anyone else where we become unsure of ourselves and the decisions we have made. We wish that someone would just give us the answers and solutions to all the questions and doubts. Even the most “Successful” people i’m sure did not get all the answers handed to them on a silver platter. They worked hard and applied themselves towards their goals and made them happen even through blood sweat and tears. If I were to spend and entire day with someone I see as a successful person, he/she would tell me their journey and what it took them to get where they are but at the end of the day that is what worked for THEM. I am a completely different person and what worked for them may not work for me. I am more likely to end up with a “Work hard and never give upon your dreams” and honestly I don’t need Beyonce or Steve Jobs to tell me that, that’s what I watch La La Land for.

I hope this answers the question. Your turn! πŸ™‚

-xJesusita πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Would you give up a week of PTO to hang out with a particular someone for an entire day?

Leave a Reply

